Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
2004 Honda Pilot EX-L
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!
I am NEW to honda and only here because of fiancée driving this creature and she loves it. Me..i hate having to learn new stuff! meh not really true..am a gm ford guy

First I found a decent buy on a scan tool Foxwell NT614 Elite for 155.00. Can use this on all my vehicles. This scan tool reads, engine, abs, srs, transmission and covers hondas and live data so it should help me purge this thing of its gremlins.
(Not advertising, just explaining what I am going to be using)

What I have done so far.
Replaced both front struts and vertical stabilizer links. (much smoother!)
Drained and refilled transmission 2x with Honda fluid.
Drained and filled differential with Honda fluid 2x and washers on drain and fill plugs.
(drove in figure 8s both ways during and after fills)
Replaced the differential temp sensor on first drain and fill/
Replaced spark plugs with OEM plugs.
Changed the coils for denso coils as cylinder 1 was misfiring and followed it when I moved it to 2.
Changed the oil and filter. Synthetic high mileage oil.
Cleaned the erg paths in the upper manifold and on the engine. (plugged and plenum gasket was bubbled blocking paths)
Replaced the EGR valve and PCV and MAP sensor.
Running hella better!
BUT, I still have the VTM-4 light coming on after driving awhile.
Considering valve lash adjustment but only after reading codes when code reader arrives.

Now, all the research I have done here I am still not clear on what to do to get rid of the VTM-4 light. I can after starting, put pilot in reverse and turn the VTM-4 on by the switch and it seems to work. But not once the light turns on.

I will post new info in here as I go just to get input from you experts.

PS, I am a manager of a NAPA here in South Dakota so I have access to inexpensive parts.

·
Registered
Nobili spiritus embiggens pequeño sparus tyre.
10,229 Posts