Can I tow this 3600# hybrid camper? - Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-11-2017, 06:59 PM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can I tow this 3600# hybrid camper?

Hi! Newbie here. Just purchased a 17 EX'L and love it.
First time towing anything.
I have a question regarding towing a 2011 jayco jay feather sport x18d. It's 3600 Dry, and 4400# if I fully load it. (don't expect to fully load this up)
it has a tongue weight of 470LBS.
The dealer said he hooks up many Pilots and this will be 100% fine. They would not place anyone in danger in over exceeding the weights. So I left a deposit to buy this.
My concern is the tongue weight. 470# is a bit high. Manual says 450# for 4 people in car. I have 2 children one 100lbs and one 70lbs. The dealer will install a weight distribution hitch which he said will lessen the 470# tongue. My concern is after adding the propane and battery and the WDH it will add another 100# or more!.
Am I good to go? or a no Go on this model? I have crunched the numbers and Im in the range, but off with the tongue weights..
Thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-12-2017, 10:31 AM

STOPPING STOPPING STOPPING did I say STOPPING. The pulling power is OK.....you need to worry about being able to stop. Trailer manf. always always understate the weight of the trailer. In my opinion you need a bigger tow vehicle. Do some more research on the trailer towing forums.

My nickles worth
Shredmandan

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-12-2017, 10:47 AM

However....this trailer does have electric brakes.

2004 Pilot EX-L
2013 Pilot Touring

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-12-2017, 01:38 PM Thread Starter

Thanks! I will be using a brake controller. I will keep my speeds down. Thanks for the feedback I appreciate it
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-12-2017, 02:40 PM