Be careful out there! - Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums

Register Home Forums Active Topics Insurance Photo Gallery Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Piloteers.org is the premier Honda Pilot Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-12-2003, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Olde Timer Administrator
 
colorider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 6,772
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to colorider
Exclamation Be careful out there!

Perhaps some of you have heard about some of the "Too good to be true" deals on eBay lately.

Here is an email that came through my motorcycle forum that provides info on how some of this happens.

=====================================
Just after getting *NAME REMOVED mail* on the VFR list about this
scam to try to steal eBay username and
passwords(http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...tem=2448284897)
I just got an email to my address that I use for my eBay account that
claims to be from eBay and is styled to look just like an ebay page,
but also is trying to trick people into filling out the form with the
username and passwords. The email subject is 'ebay security measures' and
looks just like an ebay page, but says "According to our site policy
you will have to confirm that you are the real owner of the eBay account
by completing the following form or else your account will be deleted."
and below that are the username, password, and email address form
boxes. If someone entered their info and hit the 'sign in' button, the code
for the form would have the username and password sent to the address
security@ebay-moreinfo.com, not eBay. I filled his box up with a few
username and password descriptions of the various ways I'd like to see
his scammer ass die, and reported both scams to ebay, but beware, ebay
scams are on the rise.

A whois query shows the ebay-moreinfo.com domain to belong to:

Domain Name.......... ebay-moreinfo.com
Creation Date........ 2003-09-13
Registration Date.... 2003-09-13
Expiry Date.......... 2004-09-13
Organisation Name.... Hinson William
Organisation Address. 264 Terry Drake Road
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Owens Cross Roads
Organisation Address. 35763
Organisation Address. AL
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Hinson William
Admin Address........ 264 Terry Drake Road
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Owens Cross Roads
Admin Address........ 35763
Admin Address........ AL
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... ebay_moreinfo@yahoo.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.4085551212
Admin Fax............

Real info or ID theft, I dunno, but his home phone number is (256)
519-6760 should anyone care to also call him to find out.

*NAME REMOVED*
98VFR800
00ST1100

===================================

Beware!!


__________________
'10 Honda Pilot EX-L
'11 Ford Mustang GT/CS
'12 Yamaha XT1200Z

Enjoy Life Today
Yesterday Is Gone
Tomorrow May Never Come
colorider is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2003, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
2003 SS EX-L RES
 
SteveLuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to SteveLuman Send a message via Yahoo to SteveLuman
Default

I had some dumbA$$ send me a spoof eBay email today. He couldn't even spell requires right.


Dear valued eBay member,
It has come to our attention that your eBay billing information records are out of date . This requiers you to update your billing information with no delay in order to avoid any future problems with eBay's online service.

Please click here to update your billing records.

Once you have updated your account records, your eBay session will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. However failure to update may result in cancellation of service, Terms of Service (TOS) violations or future billing problems.

Thank you for your time!
Marry Kimmel,
eBay Billing Department team.


Announcements | Register | SafeHarbor (Rules & Safety) | Feedback Forum | About eBay
Copyright © 1995-2003 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.

Needless to say I forwarded to spoof@ebay.com
SteveLuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Senior Member

 
tim.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: US
Posts: 2,564
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

The same thing goes for fake Paypal messages and other services.

The best thing to do when you get a solicitation for your personal info is to go to the site in question (i.e., the real ebay site, the real Paypal site, etc...) and verify the request is legit.

If you can't confirm the request from the site in question, contact the site's admin or customer service directly and confirm.

The user should always initiate the supply of information.
Legitimate sites don't collect information through email.
__________________
Hands free device = good
Not buckling your kids = bad

'06 Black EXL-Navi: autodim mirror, many cargo accessories, mud guards, ODB II, and wwong's console pads.
'06 Black Volvo XC90 2.5T
'03 Black EXL-RES: side steps, autodim mirror, many cargo accessories, roof rack, and mud guards.
--> traded in '06 for XC90
tim.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2003, 11:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
humanum est errare
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 1,846
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default New IE problem

Don't know if this has been covered elsewhere, but there is a new security flaw in Internet Explorer. Apparently, this flaw can cause a web side to spoof an alias url.

Here's a link to test to see if your browser is vulnerable.

Here's a description, as posted on the hot deals site:

New security vulnerability found in Internet Explorer: There is yet another new security exploit found in Microsoft Internet Explorer where a website can spoof the URL that appears when somebody clicks on a link. To see the exploit, use Internet Explorer, go here then click on the "click here to perform test" link, then look at the URL bar at the top of your browser. At the time of this writing, Microsoft has not put out a fix for this URL spoofing problem. This vulnerability is easy for a site to implement, and can cause major security problems with scam artists using the exploit to have people click on a link, appear to be from a real website, then ask the user to input personal private information. As always, I recommend that people use common sense as their best protection against giving up sensitive personal information to scam artists.
__________________
David

2003 #48853 EX-L RES Sage Brush Pearl [sold 3/10/09]

2009 Sienna XLT Limted AWD
2006 A4 2.0 CVT
2004 X3 3.0
2003 M3Cic
2003 325i (gone)
2003 Matrix XR (total loss)
1996 Landcruiser (gone)
sfhondapilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Senior Member

 
kadiir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SFBA, CA, USA
Posts: 496
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Re: New IE problem

Quote:
Originally posted by sfhondapilot
Don't know if this has been covered elsewhere, but there is a new security flaw in Internet Explorer. Apparently, this flaw can cause a web side to spoof an alias url.[snip]
I thought that was a feature as I've seen legitimate sites do that plenty of times.

Heh, reminds me of a case recently where an FBI agent got one of these ebay or paypal scams at home and it pissed him off so much that he "hunted down" the sender and arrested her. She got convicted a few months ago.

kad
__________________
2004 Honda Pilot EX-L SS
Air deflector, auto-dim mirror, cargo stuff (cover, liner, organizer, & tray), crossbars, full-size spare, Garmin StreetPilot 2610, Husky floor mats, lower trim w/ fog lights, rear back-up sensors, rear splash guards, separation net, side steps, tow package, wheel locks, and most of wwong's great 3M products
kadiir is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Copyright 2000 piloteers.org. All Rights Reserved.