AC Problem - Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums

Register Home Forums Active Topics Insurance Photo Gallery Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow
Piloteers.org is the premier Honda Pilot Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-04-2009, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default AC Problem

I have a general AC question as I am a Police Officer and not a mechanic. My AC stopped blowing cold air. The dealer looked at it and said it needed freon. I went the next day to pick it up and it still blew warm air.

Long story short is the dealer now says I have a leak and need a new evaporator ($$$$$$$$). I chose not to get the repair completed at this time so I picked up the vehicle.

I checked the system just now in my driveway and the system has freon but the AC does not blow cold air and the AC compressor does not engage. Does this sound like a leak in the evaporator or a bad compressor.

Like I said I'm a police officer and not a mechanic. It seems to me that if there is a leak the system would not have any freon in it. Also if it was a slow leak the compressor would function until the system loss pressure, right???

What do you think???? Should I have someone else look at the AC system?

Thanks
Rich
Westminster, Maryland
R1Peacock is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-04-2009, 06:42 PM   #2 (permalink)

I had a similar problem with my '97 CR-V, and it turned out to be an intermittent electrical connection on the wire to the compressor relay.
toml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

How could you tell the system had freon in it?