mouse nest in blower motor - Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums

Register Home Forums Active Topics Insurance Photo Gallery Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow
Piloteers.org is the premier Honda Pilot Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-02-2006, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default mouse nest in blower motor

Hello all, I am a new Pilot owner and new to this site.
We have about 6800 miles on our 05 EX and noticed a strange sound coming from the HVAC fan motor. After removing the right exterior cowl panel and pulling the fan motor out, I discovered the fan packed with insulation and small chunks of paper from a mouse nest. I proceded to clean the pollen filter, heater housing, fan and cowl area. While cleaning I noticed a 6 inch round hole in the inner cowl panel where the fresh air inlet is, that is not covered with anything. It seems as though there should be screen or grate or something covering that huge hole. Here in Wisconsin, when the weather gets cold, the rodents try to get in. Has anyone else experienced this problem? Is there an easy fix? Or better yet a recall or TSB so the dealer can fix it?
Thanks
claybuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-02-2006, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Senior Member

The fan was making a lot of noise on my Pilot. I took it to the dealer thinking it would be repaired under warranty. The dealer found the same problem as yours, mice. It is not coverered under warranty. So, I ended up paying for them to clean it out.
2003 Honda Pilot EXL-NAV, Starlight Silver, #86733 "Featured Pilot March 2004"