Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

mouse nest in blower motor

110K views 69 replies 34 participants last post by  Thrillhouse 
#1 ·
Hello all, I am a new Pilot owner and new to this site.
We have about 6800 miles on our 05 EX and noticed a strange sound coming from the HVAC fan motor. After removing the right exterior cowl panel and pulling the fan motor out, I discovered the fan packed with insulation and small chunks of paper from a mouse nest. I proceded to clean the pollen filter, heater housing, fan and cowl area. While cleaning I noticed a 6 inch round hole in the inner cowl panel where the fresh air inlet is, that is not covered with anything. It seems as though there should be screen or grate or something covering that huge hole. Here in Wisconsin, when the weather gets cold, the rodents try to get in. Has anyone else experienced this problem? Is there an easy fix? Or better yet a recall or TSB so the dealer can fix it?
Thanks

#2 ·
The fan was making a lot of noise on my Pilot. I took it to the dealer thinking it would be repaired under warranty. The dealer found the same problem as yours, mice. It is not coverered under warranty. So, I ended up paying for them to clean it out.

#3 ·
Animal damage is often covered under your comprehensive insurance.

(which should have a $0 deductible according to some unnamed people here):4:

#4 ·
My main concern is not the repair cost, but how to keep this from happening again. I have been a collision repair technician for 14 years, so the disassembly involved is no problem, but the damage that I have seen mice do is hard to repair. Mainly removing the smell. Luckily I cought this right away and they did'nt have time to stink it up. It seems like a poor design, but even worse is the limited access to cover the hole.
Thanks for any and all info.

#5 ·
Its that time of year when these things happen . Don't be surprised if it happens again within a few weeks.