Knocking sound under trunk - Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Npbk

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 10:20 AM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Knocking sound under trunk

Finally got my pilot after a long wait. We put 100+ miles on it last week and luckily didn't see any issues folks here had: radio signal, seat heating, wind noise, tailgate misalignment, paint bumbles, etc. Before I am overly excited about the new car, I did notice a knocking / squeaky / clicking noise from the bottom or under the bottom of trunk. I am not good at describing noise but it sounds like little rocks hitting panels under the trunk. But the roads I drove on seems clear and rock / sand free. I also heard it during idle (maybe illusion). It showed up after 50 miles. On bumpy road it didn't get worse. I checked the rear plate frame and it's very tight. I am going to check the tools for spare tire but the noise seems to be from outside the car. Anyone had similar issue?

2017 Pilot EXL AWD Sensing
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 02:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Npbk View Post
Finally got my pilot after a long wait. We put 100+ miles on it last week and luckily didn't see any issues folks here had: radio signal, seat heating, wind noise, tailgate misalignment, paint bumbles, etc. Before I am overly excited about the new car, I did notice a knocking / squeaky / clicking noise from the bottom or under the bottom of trunk. I am not good at describing noise but it sounds like little rocks hitting panels under the trunk. But the roads I drove on seems clear and rock / sand free. I also heard it during idle (maybe illusion). It showed up after 50 miles. On bumpy road it didn't get worse. I checked the rear plate frame and it's very tight. I am going to check the tools for spare tire but the noise seems to be from outside the car. Anyone had similar issue?