Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

2016/17 Pilot AWD QUESTION

21K views 17 replies 14 participants last post by  Wanderer 
#1 ·
Hi everyone. Newbie here. I'm about to pull a trigger on a 2017 Touring AWD Pilot. My question is, does the AWD turns all 4 wheels all the time at any speed? I have heard that other makes label their vehicles as AWD but then above a certain speed, it will disengage the rear wheels and only the fronts are turning. Any facts on this with the pilot?

#4 ·
I believe op meant awd. The Pilot is basically a front wheel drive, only sends power to rear wheels when pick up, senses wheel spins/slips, and when set to the sand, snow modes. That may not be very accurate description of the Pilot's awd system, but you get the idea. Not sure at what speed it will stop being awd.

#5 ·
Pilot never "stops being AWD", ( assuming you bought one equipped with AWD ), but it will reduce torque delivery to the rear wheels under low-load cruising conditions to improve efficiency. 3rd-gen Pilot's AWD system is mechanically identical to 3rd-gen MDX, although there may be differences in software "tuning". This whole discussion of AWD type can get "spirited" at times, but be careful of marketing hype. Unless you plan to compete in off-road events, Pilot's AWD system is plenty robust and it is designed to enhance on-road performance in a wide range of conditions. It is proactive in delivery of torque to the rear-wheels, including splitting torque left-right, not simply reactive as was claimed. For more detail, there are many articles on the web, and a few tomes on this site, some of them written by myself. ?

#7 ·
When I was looking at the Pilot my friend passed along this link which is an EXTREMELY detailed discussion of the various AWD systems in Hondas and Acuras. The bottom line is that the 2016+ Pilot AWD system is identical in design and function as the SH-AWD system Acura is using in the MDX.